Year 10 Rugby School Cup Champions

Year 10 Rugby School Cup Champions

Date: Tuesday, 16 January, 2018

The year 9 & 10 Rugby School Cup Finals took place at Bideford RFC on Tuesday 16th January. The year 9s who were captained by Alex Hookway were up against Bideford and played hard for the duration of the game. The weather was horrendous to say the least but they stuck to their game plan and it was 12-12 at full time. Although they lost in extra time, man for man they could not have given any more. Injuries and fatigue played a big part in the end, but each and every one of the team should be very proud of their performance. Well done to you all, and thank you to Mr Wheaton again for all his hard work.
Year 10 Champions!
A massive well done to the Year 10s who beat Shebbear 41-0 in their final. As Ryan said in his match report, it was a defensive game for the first 10 minutes or so and then when Park had some possession, they increased the pressure on Shebbear and scored some fantastic tries. Again, well done to you all, you should also be very proud of your achievements as I am. The win was thoroughly deserved.

Mr Blanchard – P.E. Teacher

The following is a match report from Ryan Smale – Year 10 captain
We were not only up against Shebbear College but also the weather. It was a good battle between the teams for a good 10 minutes until Sam Sussex found a gap in the outside channel and Park took the first points of the match. We took on a positive attitude from then on showing some good progressive rugby, in some harsh conditions. At half time we were leading. The second half saw us playing with the wind behind us and as Shebbear had not scored we were determined to keep a clean sheet and everyone played their part. I am very proud to have captained the team as every member stepped up to the mark including Brandon Hawkins who made his debut for us.

Everyone should be proud of what they have achieved and gave us a great win of 41-0, let’s take this attitude forward when we represent North Devon in the next round. In total we scored seven tries and conversions were by Llewyn Jago. Try scorers: Harry Cram x2, Llewyn Jago, Ben Rowell, Ryan Smale, Sam Sussex, and Tom Turner.

Also, a big thank you must go to Mr Blanchard, Mr Galliford and Mr Priest for their ongoing support and also for the support we received from parents, friends and teachers from Park School and also thank you to Bideford Rugby Club for hosting the match.

Sports Type: